2024 Rural Health Association of Tennessee Board of Directors

Barry Cooper, MS
Executive Director

Past President

Jackie Cavnar, MBA

Executive Director
Tennessee Psychiatric Association

Brenda B. Jones, PhD, MSN,

Lee University School of Nursing

Cynthia Chafin, M.Ed, MCHES®

Director, MTSU Center for Health
and Human Services

President Elect
Anna M. Hurt, MPH
District Coordinator
Anderson County Schools
West Tennessee Vice President
Erica Johnson-Lockett, RN, MSN
Chief Nursing Officer 
West Tennessee Healthcare- Bolivar

Middle Tennessee Vice President
Leslie Brasfield, RN
Coordinated School Health
Manchester City Schools

East Tennessee Vice President    

Thomas Kincer, MD
Associate Dean for Rural and
Community Programs, ETSU

Desireè Kelly, DrPH
Workforce Strategies Manager
TN Primary Care Association

Walter Fletcher, MD
Hinds Clinic

Freda Russell, RN
Ascension Three Rivers Hospital 

Sherry Scruggs, RN, BSN
Milan General Hospital Admin.
Gibson County Facility Director

Beth Fox, MD, MPH, CPE, FAAFP     
Associate Dean/Chief of Staff
East TN State University

Rev. Sarah Wells
Bristol Lifestyle Recovery

Lisa Beasley, DNP, APRN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor, Community
Health & Population Health, UTHSC


Linda Nelms, PhD, MPH
Coordinator for Workforce Training
Walters State Community College

Douglas Wong, MBA     
NHC Healthcare

Morgan McDonald, MD     
National Director of Public Health
Milbank Memorial Fund

Audrey Gilliam
Outreach Specialist 
Project Transition

Tina Pilgreen, MS (ex-officio)
Director, State Office of Rural Health   

Andrew Burnett, MBA, MHA (ex-officio)   
Vice President Workforce Strategies
Tennessee Center for Health
Workforce Development

Jacy Warrell, MPA (ex-officio)
Chief Executive Officer
Rural Health Association of Tennessee